Ron Bracken – Pierrefonds, QC
(1933 – 2013)

À PROPOS DE

Ron Bracken a conduit avec une équipe de cascadeurs américains avant de commencer sa carrière de dragueur en 1965. Bien qu’il ait commencé à courir avec sa Pontiac Parisienne dans la classe C/MP, il passera plus tard à la classe C/FX. En 1968, Bracken a acheté le Napierville 1/4 Mile Drag à André Gagnon pour 25 000 $, qu’il a dû emprunter. Après avoir ouvert les portes du Napierville International Speedway, il n’a fallu que deux mois à Bracken pour payer la piste en entier.

Bracken est un grand preneur de risques et un promoteur. Avec un sponsor de la brasserie Labatt, il a fait venir des noms comme Scott Wilson, “Big Daddy” Don Garlits, et les frères Rini comme dragsters top fuel. Dans la division AA Funny car, Bracken attire des individus comme Don “the Snake” Prudhomme, Tom “the Mongoose” McEwen, “Jungle” Jim Liberman, Arnie “the Farmer” Beswick, TV Tommy Ivo, Gene Snow et le Chi Town Hustler. Des pilotes de voitures à réaction tels que Doug Rose (avec son Green Mamba), Art Arfons (avec son Green Monster), Roger Gustin (avec sa machine Lava) et Mike Evegins étaient également présents à Napierville. Bracken divertissait les spectateurs avec les apparitions d’autres personnages populaires tels que Benny the Bomb (célèbre pour s’être fait exploser) et Ken Carter (un diable canadien qui sautait par-dessus les bus scolaires). Lorsque Napierville a rencontré des problèmes techniques, Bracken a même organisé une course à pied parmi les spectateurs pour maintenir l’énergie du jour de la course !

Bracken est le premier à introduire les 18 roues sur le circuit. Les conducteurs étaient ravis de montrer leurs gros engins pour avoir la chance de gagner un trophée et d’autres grands prix, comme une corvette offerte par Bracken lors de son Corvette Challenge.

Bracken a réussi à faire d’un circuit peu connu une piste de course internationale, où les grands noms de la course automobile étaient impatients d’être présents. Il a vendu le circuit en 1979 et a laissé à jamais une impression sur les spectateurs et les pilotes. Ron Bracken sera toujours connu comme “M. Drag” dans nos cœurs et nos esprits.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Veuillez saisir une adresse e-mail valide.

36  −  trente quatre  =  

Menu

Ron Bracken – Pierrefonds, QC
(1933 – 2013)

About

Ron Bracken drove with an American stunt team before starting his drag racing career in 1965. Although he began racing with his Pontiac Parisienne in the C/MP class, he would later switch to a C/FX class. In 1968, Bracken purchased the Napierville 1/4 Mile Drag from Andre Gagnon for $25,000, which he had to borrow. After opening the gates to Napierville International Speedway, it took Bracken only two months to pay for the track in full.

Bracken was a great risk-taker and promoter. Along with a Labatt Brewery sponsor, he brought in such names as Scott Wilson, “Big Daddy” Don Garlits, and the Rini Brothers as top fuel dragsters. In the AA Funny car division, Bracken attracted individuals such as Don “the Snake” Prudhomme, Tom “the Mongoose” McEwen, “Jungle” Jim Liberman, Arnie “the Farmer” Beswick, TV Tommy Ivo, Gene Snow and the Chi Town Hustler. Jet car drivers such as Doug Rose (with his Green Mamba), Art Arfons (with his Green Monster), Roger Gustin (with his Lava machine) and Mike Evegins were also participants at Napierville. Bracken kept spectators entertained with appearances by other popular figures such as Benny the Bomb (famous for blowing himself up) and Ken Carter (a Canadian dare devil who jumped over school buses). When Napierville faced technical problems, Bracken even organized a foot race among the spectators to keep the energy of race day alive!

Bracken was the first to introduce 18-wheelers to the racetrack. Drivers were thrilled to show off their big rigs for the chance to win a trophy and other large prizes, such as a corvette Bracken gave during his Corvette Challenge.

Bracken succeeded in making a little-known racetrack into an International raceway, where the big names in racing were eager to be. He sold the track in 1979 and has forever left an impression on spectators and drivers alike. Ron Bracken will always be known as “Mr. Drag” in our hearts and minds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Menu