22 new members inducted at Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame’s 3rd annual gala

(MONTREAL, QC) November 19, 2017 — Twenty-two Canadians were recognized for their contributions to the world of drag racing during the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame (CDRHF) 3rd Annual Gala held at the Sheraton Hotel, in Laval, Quebec.

“Each individual inducted into the Hall of Fame, strengthens the legacy of the sport of drag racing,” says John Scotti, Founder of the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame. “It’s an honour to welcome these legends and pay tribute to their outstanding accomplishments.”

The nominees included world drag racing champions, drivers, crew chiefs, engine and chassis builders, mechanics, track owners, announcers, and graphic designers, from across Canada and the United States. Two of the 22 inductions were posthumous.

The complete list of inductees and pictures of the event can be found below.

The evening included the surprise induction of Bob Aubertin, track announcer for over four decades and current Director of the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame. Bob was called on stage by John Scotti and 2016 CDRHF inductee Brian Mulligan to receive his CDRHF ‘blue blazer’ and CDRHF ring that is given to each inductee.

“I am passionate about drag racing. I eat, sleep and breathe the sport,” says Bob Aubertin. “I am truly humbled by the nomination and deeply honoured to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.”

Each inductee left his mark in the official CDRHF book alongside the signatures of inductees from the previous years. To date, 60 Canadians have been inducted into the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame.

To be nominated, candidates must have actively been engaged at the top level of their categories for more than 25 years and must have made a tremendous contribution to the sport. Some categories may request that candidates have established a national record as an individual or as a member of a team (NHRA/IHRA/AHRA national record or national event win). Inductees may also come from other areas of the sport such as photography and track operations. Candidates must reside in or be an expatriate of Canada.

List of 2017 Inductees


Bob Aubertin, Montreal, QC

40-year track announcer, Director of the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame


Simon Menzies, Tottenham, ON

14-time national event winner and 1978 AHRA Funny Car World Champion,  Former president of Simpson Safety, safety advisor to NHRA and AHRA


Robert Bannon, Pincourt, QC

First Quebecer to win a national event in the United States, 1972 NHRA World Series Champion


Gérard Milette, Saint-Étienne-des-Grès, QC

Car builder and racer, 2016 NHRA Nationals Top Sportsman champion


Gary Beck, Edmonton, AB

Two-time World Champion drag racing driver, 1974 and 1983 NHRA championship


Greg Nickerson, Lower Sackville, NS

First Maritimer to record a Grand National event win


Al Billes, Barrie, ON

Engine builder, Founder of Al Billes Racing


Greg Ozubko, Edmonton, AB

Motorsport graphic artist, founder of GOS Motorsport Graphics


Eddy Bryck, Whitby, ON

NHRA record for most perfect runs ever, Owner of The Chassis Shop


Bob Papirnick, Edmonton, AB

Legendary crew chief, car builder and Funny Car driver


Guy Drouin, Quebec City, QC (Posthumous)

Founding family member of Quebec 1/4 mile dragway in Pont-Rouge


Ray Peets, Edmonton, AB

Engine builder, car owner and racer


Rob Flynn, Edmonton, AB

Respected crew chief who has worked with several Top Fuel and Funny Car drivers


John Philipps, Toronto, ON

Driving force behind Ford of Canada’s involvement in the sport of professional drag racing


Brad Francis, Toronto,ON

NHRA record holder, race car engineer


Kevin Power, Mermaid, PEI

Owner of one of the longest-running dragstrips (Raceway Park) in Canada


Gordon Jenner, Calgary, AB

Prolific crew chief, Member of Hodgson-Bonin-Jenner team


Herb Rodgers, London, ON (Posthumous)

Canadian Alcohol Funny Car racing icon


Alan Kenny, Kingston, ON

World Champion racer, winner of seven NHRA national events, finished in the national points top 10 three times in three different classes


Robert Slater, Cambridge, ON

Precision machinist, three-time track points champion


Don MacCallum, Vankleek Hill, ON

Hemi Super Stock eliminator and shootout racing icon, owner of Don MacCallum Machine


Jim Wildgoose, Stoney Creek, ON

15-time NHRA record holder, Founder of Wildgoose Performance

The Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization that is based in Montreal, QC, at 7905 Provencher Blvd, Saint-Leonard. Founded in 2014 by John Scotti, President of John Scotti Automotive Group, it is the only organization that recognizes drag racing professionals in Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro-Stock and Sportsman categories annually.

About Drag Racing

Drag Racing is the fastest and quickest form of professional motorsport racing in the world today. Professionally built and driven, the race cars compete, side by side, at speeds of over 332 mph (534.30 km/h) in a 10,000 H.P. Top Fuel dragsters race in less than 3.680 seconds across the finish line. The race follows a short, straight course from a standing start over a measured distance of most commonly 1/4 miles (1,320 ft. [402 m] ) with a shorter 3/16 mile [1,000 ft. (305 m)] for Nitro methane powered Top Fuel dragsters and Funny Cars.

– 30 –

Related Posts

No results found.